The consequences of DWI and DUI charges in the state of Texas are very serious, including jail time, suspension of your driver license and hefty fines. The domino effect of DWI/DUI can be the worse part for many people: you go to jail, you miss work, you lose your license and then miss more work and eventually lose your job. Then, because you have a criminal record, it can be difficult to gain future employment, since most employers investigate applicants for criminal history.
YOU ONLY HAVE 15 DAYS TO SAVE YOUR LICENSE, OR YOU WILL AUTOMATICALLY LOSE YOUR DRIVERS LICENSE 40 DAYS AFTER ARREST CALL US TODAY.
When a person is arrested for an alcohol-related driving offense in the state of Texas, they risk losing their driver license. Unfortunately, being unable to legally drive can have serious effects on your life, including making it difficult to get to and from work. Fortunately, there are ways you can protect your license or retain the right to drive legally, including:
- Driver’s License Hearings
- Administrative License Revocation (ALR)
- Occupational Driver’s Licenses
While there are things that can be done to protect your license, you only have a limited amount of time to take action, making it critical to get in touch with an attorney as soon as possible.
It is imperative that you have an experienced criminal attorney on your side to help defend you against a charge of DWI or DUI. Because of the way that alcohol-related crimes are treated in the State of Texas, the penalties are harsh.
What are the possible penalties for a 1st time DWI conviction?
- A jail sentence between 72 hours and 180 days in county jail;
- A fine up to $2,000.00 may be imposed;
- If probation is granted, Community Service Hours may be imposed not to exceed 100 hours
- If probation is granted, the Court may require you to take various classes, attend drug or alcohol treatment (including in-patient treatment), report frequently to your probation officer, and undergo strict drug and alcohol testing during your period of probation that can be up to 2 years.
- Court costs and fees
- Driver’s License suspended from 90-365 days.
- DWI surcharges can be imposed by the State
What is a DWI surcharge?
A DWI surcharge is a fine every year for 3 years to keep your drivers license.
First time DWI surcharge fee- $1,000 a year.
Second time DWI surcharge fee- $1,500 a year.
Third time DWI surcharge fee- $2,000 a year.